asean 4


This month of August, as the ASEAN celebrates its 54th Anniversary with its theme, “We Care, We Prepare, We Prosper”,  MGB-CAR reaffirms its active support in promoting the observance of ASEAN month through the wearing of any ASEAN costume during the Monday flag raising ceremony.

President Rodrigo Duterte signed Proclamation No. 282 on July 31, 2018 in order to promote and heighten the awareness of the Asean and to emphasize the importance of Asean’s role in achieving and maintaining regional peace and sustainable development.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on the 8th of August, 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand through the signing of the Bangkok Declaration , wherein the Philippines was one of the founding pillars, alongside with Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand.  From the five original member states,  the ASEAN has now grown into a ten-member state, comprising of Brunei Darussalam,  Cambodia, Indonesia,  LAO PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.


By: Ms. Aileen Ocampo


asean 1